ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – Memphis guard Tyreke Evans has been named the 2008-09 U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) National Freshman of the Year, the organization announced Wednesday. Evans, who was a unanimous choice for this year’s honor, is the first player in Tiger history to receive the USBWA National Freshman of Year award.
For Evans, it is his fourth National Freshman of the Year award, making him the consensus National Freshman of the Year. He also received the National Freshman of the Year accolade from The Sporting News, Memphis freshman Tyreke Evans was named the 2008-09 USBWA National Freshman of the and The Chester, Pa., native is the first freshman in Tiger basketball history to earn consensus National Freshman of Year distinction. The USBWA began presenting a National Freshman of the Year in the 1988-89 season, and this is the third Conference USA player in the 14-year history of the league to earn the honor. Larry Hughes of Saint Louis was named the 1998 USBWA Freshman of the Year, while DePaul’s Quentin Richardson won the 1999 honor.

Evans is also a finalist for the 2008-09 Wooden Award and Oscar Robertson Trophy – both are National Player of the Year honors. He is the only freshman to be listed among the finalists for both awards.
The awards keep piling up for the 6-foot-6 guard. Evans was named the Conference USA Freshman of the Year and earned All-C-USA first team accolades. Evans was also selected to the USBWA All-District 4 Team and the NABC All-District 11 first team. The Sporting News, and selected him to its Freshman All-America first teams. Sports Illustrated and also named Evans an All-America third team.

Evans, the 2009 C-USA Tournament MVP, leads the Tigers in scoring (16.6 ppg) and steals (75). He is averaging 5.4 rebounds and 3.9 assists, while shooting 45.4 percent from the field and 69.7 percent from the free throw line. The nine-time Conference USA Rookie of the Week is ranked among the league leaders in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage, assists and steals. He ranks first on the Memphis all-time freshmen steals list with 75 swipes. He is also second on the Tiger all-time freshman scoring chart with 599 points.

Memphis (33-3), ranked No. 3 in the Associated Press poll and No. 2 in the ESPN/USA Today coaches poll, returns to action in the NCAA Tournament West Region semifinals (Sweet 16) on Thursday, Mar. 26. The No. 2 seed Tigers will meet No. 3 seed Missouri (30-6) at 8:37 pm (CT) at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz.
The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.
All-Time USBWA Freshmen of the Year:
1988-89 Chris Jackson, LSU
1989-90 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech
1990-91 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest
1991-92 Chris Webber, Michigan
1992-93 Jason Kidd, California
1993-94 Joe Smith, Maryland
1994-95 None selected
1995-96 None selected
1996-97 None selected
1997-98 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis
1998-99 Quentin Richardson, DePaul

1999-00 Jason Gardner, Arizona
2000-01 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall
2001-02 T.J. Ford, Texas
2002-03 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
2003-04 Luol Deng, Duke
2004-05 Marvin Williams, North Carolina
2005-06 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2006-07 Kevin Durant, Texas
2007-08 Michael Beasley, Kansas State
2008-09 Tyreke Evans, Memphis